Tiny Navajo Reads ARCs: Shatter the Sky

2

November 8, 2019 by TinyNavajo

Shatter the Sky by Rebecca Kim Wells

 ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦

*Published July 30, 2019*

I received an ARC from NetGalley. This in no way affects my thoughts on the book or the following review.

shatter the skyYes, yes, I know, I know. I’m very very late with this ARC review. But come on, when you request a lot of books, you tend to forget which ones you need to read next. At least I do. But this book was worth it and I’m definitely looking forward to when the next one comes out.

A determined young woman sets out to rescue her kidnapped girlfriend by stealing a dragon from the corrupt emperor in this stunning fantasy debut that’s perfect for fans of Margaret Rogerson, Rae Carson, and Rachel Hartman.

Raised among the ruins of a conquered mountain nation, Maren dreams only of sharing a quiet life with her girlfriend Kaia—until the day Kaia is abducted by the Aurati, prophetic agents of the emperor, and forced to join their ranks. Desperate to save her, Maren hatches a plan to steal one of the emperor’s coveted dragons and storm the Aurati stronghold.

If Maren is to have any hope of succeeding, she must become an apprentice to the Aromatory—the emperor’s mysterious dragon trainer. But Maren is unprepared for the dangerous secrets she uncovers: rumors of a lost prince, a brewing rebellion, and a prophecy that threatens to shatter the empire itself. Not to mention the strange dreams she’s been having about a beast deep underground…

With time running out, can Maren survive long enough to rescue Kaia from impending death? Or could it be that Maren is destined for something greater than she could have ever imagined?

An excellent start to a new series, I loved the main character Maren and how she leaves her village home to rescue the one she loves. As she goes through many trials and obstacles, she sees that there is more to the world that she first let herself see. We also see her grow and mature and become someone she never thought she would ever be. She is truly one of the best main characters I’ve read in a long time.

Maren starts out this book almost weak and unwilling to leave her safe, small community. But when the love of her life is taken from her, she throws all of her energies into getting her back. She leaves her mountain home, leaves her family behind, and does what all else in her community was spit upon: working in the dragon fortress at the bottom on the mountain. It’s there that she sees the creatures that her ancestors used to work side by side with, the dragons that are now the Emperor’s weapons to be used against her and her people.

I also love the dragons and the lore surrounding the dragons in this book. Dragons have always been a fascinating subject to read about, especially all the different ways they can be interpreted. I think that was a bit of the best part of this book, was seeing how different and unique the dragons were in this world compared to other worlds.

If you like dragons, love, friendship, and standing for what is right, then you should consider picking up this book. And what would you do for love? What have you done for love? Comment below and let me know!

2 thoughts on “Tiny Navajo Reads ARCs: Shatter the Sky

  1. This sounds exceptionally interesting! Also, I’d have to think about things that I’ve done for love. Not because I’m necessarily an obscenely selfish person or anything, but because I don’t think I’ve reached a point in my life where I’ve had to do something seemingly out of my comfort zone for love. You know what I mean? I think what I’d do for love, would have to be subjective to that love–meaning I couldn’t necessarily think, “Oh, I’d do that.” AH, I’m rambling!!!

    Like

    • TinyNavajo says:

      It’s good that you thought about it though. I know that I’ve done things for love that are like a toe outside of my comfort zone, like moving away from the area I grew up in to come out to the Midwest, but even then that wasn’t too bad. And I haven’t gone through a traumatic enough event to have to do too much outside of my comfort zone. And it’s always interesting to think about “what if’s.” :]

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Goodreads

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 625 other followers

%d bloggers like this: