Tiny Navajo Reads: Storm Glass


January 26, 2018 by TinyNavajo

Storm Glass by Maria V. Snyder

 ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦

storm glassThis is the next set in the trilogies set in Sitia and Ixia, only we are now focusing on Opal and her glass magic, rather than on Yelena and her Soulfinding abilities. Granted, we still see Yelena from time to time, and our friends from Ixia, but we see what Sitia is like through Opal’s eyes, what she has gone through.

When we meet up with Opal in the first book, she is making her way through her final year at the Citadel, working with glass and with her magic. We know that she has magic, but trying to figure out what exactly she can do with her magic has been slightly frustrating for everyone involved. But Opal and her mentor, Zitora, the Second Magician, are sent to help the Stormdancers, a clan that lives off the coast where they dance the storms, harnessing the energy from the storms to use for their factories and keep the coastline safe.

Being the Glass Magician, Opal figures out what’s happened the glass orbs the Stormdancers use, and is able to fix it; but in doing so, Opal discovers that she has more magical abilities than anyone originally thought. In discovering these new powers though, Opal has discovered that her new powers distort things even more than she thought they would. As she struggles to gain control over her new powers, and lives start to hang in the balance of her ability to use her glass magic, Opal learns that there is more to her life than she thought, and there are people out there who will do anything they can in order to use her powers to their advantage.

What book series had a weird offshoot? Did you enjoy the offshoot, or did you wish to get back to the main story? Comment below and let me know!

4 thoughts on “Tiny Navajo Reads: Storm Glass

  1. […] next in the Glass Series that takes place in the world of The Chronicles of Sitia and Ixia, we see what happens now that […]


  2. […] this final book of the Glass Study series, we see Opal deal with no longer having magic of any sort, having drained her blood of all her […]


  3. […] is the first book in the final trilogy concerning The Chronicles of Ixia and the Glass Study series, we come back to a new story with Yelena, Valek, and everyone else we have met in the past six […]


  4. […] and there was a trilogy in between the original trilogy and the ending trilogy called the Glass series. This was an excellent series, I loved Maria’s writing, and I loved getting to know Yelena […]


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s



Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 632 other followers

%d bloggers like this: