Tiny Navajo Reads: Poison Study


January 3, 2018 by TinyNavajo

Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder

♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦

poison studyThe first in a series for me that I’ve read before, but I’m starting to reread again. I had forgotten how much I love her style of writing and her style of magic. In this first book, we are introduced to a world where a military regime has taken over from the previous monarchy of greed and corruption. In doing so, they have set up a strict regime. There are rigorous punishments set out to fit the crime committed. In the case of Yelena, she murdered the son General Brazell, whose son she murdered.

As the time for her execution comes, Yelena is offered a chance at life, if she offers to become the Commander’s food taster. She takes it, grasping desperately at any chance of survival. While she now has more days than she had, she now has to worry about being poisoned and dying, as well as dying from a slow death of Butterfly’s Dust, given to her by the Commander’s head of security. By appearing each day for the antidote for the Butterfly’s Dust, she lives another day.

Problems start to arise though, as a rogue magician from the southern country starts to wreck havoc, rebels seeking to seize control of the regime, and Yelena starts to develop magic, something that is illegal in her country. Yelena struggles to gain control of her power, stay alive with her job as the food taster, and just not die. She learns her job, she focuses on controlling her magic and figuring out how to NOT DIE. But as things start to come to a head, Yelena figures out that not everything in her life can be easily sorted into dying and not dying, living and not living, as she thought it would be.

What series have you decided to reread this year? Why are you rereading it? Comment below and let me know!

7 thoughts on “Tiny Navajo Reads: Poison Study

  1. […] start where we left off in the previous book, Poison Study, where Yelena is making her way south to Sitia to master her magic, escape possible death from […]


  2. […] I thought that this was just a middle book in a large series. This is actually the last book in a trilogy that focuses on Yelena Zaltana. In this book, we see that Yelena is not only afraid of her magic, […]


  3. […] is the next set in the trilogies set in Sitia and Ixia, only we are now focusing on Opal and her glass magic, rather than on Yelena and her Soulfinding […]


  4. […] next in the Glass Series that takes place in the world of The Chronicles of Sitia and Ixia, we see what happens now that Opal has discovered that she can drain a magician’s power from […]


  5. […] is the first book in the final trilogy concerning The Chronicles of Ixia and the Glass Study series, we come back to a new story with Yelena, Valek, and everyone else we […]


  6. […] this book the second of the Soulfinder series, and fifth in the Study series, we see just how badly Yelena is suffering without her magic, especially as neither Sitia or […]


  7. […] in January because I’ve been wanting to reread this series for a LONG time. It was the Study series by Maria V. Snyder that starts with Poison Study and ends with Dawn Study. It was much longer than […]


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s



Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 632 other followers

%d bloggers like this: